always look on the dark side of life

It’s “revisit your childhood” month at my friendly neighborhood book club. Or at least that’s how I see it. Assignment: read a Roald Dahl book, or twelve. They’re so little (and quick, fun reads) that it’d be easy to inhale a handful in a single afternoon. 

I re-re-read   The Twits  (76 pgs) and my all-time favorite kids book,  The BFG  (207 pgs). The Twits are just so evil. It’s fun to watch them torture each other, and even more fun to watch them get a dose of poetic justice. I must have read  The BFG  50 times growing up; I never got tired of it. The dream-catching and the dream-mixing scenes are my favorites. And I love way the BFG larbles ganguage.

Leave a Reply

